Irregular Gears for Keplerian Motion

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Confused
Old Timer

Irregular Gears for Keplerian Motion

Post by Confused »

Hi there!  I'm new to the forums, but by way of a quick introduction, I'm a biologist turned digital artist doing some 3D printing projects so my interest in maths, engineering and design is kind of as an enthusiast and hobbyist rather than in any kind of professional capacity.  As a quick heads up, I don't have a copy of gearotic motion (yet - if I do end up making things that require a lot of gears, it's on my wishlist) so my experience is mostly using Blender (which is both free and has an extensive API for scripting); hopefully you won't hold that against me. :)  I'm not terribly coordinated in person and don't have access to much in the way of tools and machining, so this project is going to be 3D printed, mostly using stereolithography or laser sintering (so the shapes will be more precise than filament deposition prints, but less precise than machined items e.g. cut using a lathe or router)

This is the third time I'm trying to write a post to this forum, because previously the process of writing out the issue in detail highlighted the mistakes I was making - so thanks for inadvertantly helping me along with this project already!