auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Discussions and file drops for Auggie
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »

thanks, I will try some more z moves tomorrow .
Does your laser panel have a button labeled Distance Correctio n on it ?
 
not that I can see , sounds like it could be handy though

User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Thx, Ill update the panels so you have my laser controls, they give a bit more power.

Art
User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Hi Richard:

The next update will have my laser panel that allows distance mode to be turned off. This can be very handy in things such as PCB.s

In the meantime, here it is, just unzip to the Panels folder..



Art
Attachments
LaserPanel.zip
(68.26 KiB) Downloaded 268 times
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »

thanks for the new panel , but it dosen't  solve the problem

treid the  Z drills  as suggested with distance compensation on/off  and the laser will not reach past barely above tickle power
(laser current 10mA  where idle is 2mA  and full power 1600mA) the power level reached always  is  10mA  regardless of speed
for each g1 Z move the laser does increase and then go back to tickle when completed  but goes from 1 % to 2% (guess) only
coppercam does have a circular boring mode  but auggie does not like the arcs it generates (mach3 is ok)
Attachments

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Richard:

Its a good point. All my work has been on imageing and cutting, so I hvent had to get power at a location without motion.
I will add a way to do that, perhaps with a Gcode that fires a set power for a set time..

Art
User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Richard:

I see what I think would work best. We need to add a Gcode for what your trying to do with drilling.
A simple one like G101P50D1000  which would shoot the laser at 50% power for 1000ms..

It shouldnt be too bad to do that. If the laser spindle library is active, we have a call named

SpindleControl.TestFireRealTimePWM( lTime, lPower);

which will fire the laser at any power for any time.. so to add a Gcode like described above would be
written as a library function as below:

//fire laser as a drill with no motion required// G100 Ppower Dtimeinms
global GCode101 = function()
{
  power = ParmsPRI[0]; //get the P word
  time = ParmsJKD[2];  //get D word..best not to use T, tool number would change.
  SpindleControl.TestFireRealTimePWM( time, power); 
  print("Firing laser at " + power + "% for " + time + " Milliseconds");
};

  So.. just adding the above function to your GCode library should add the Gcode call G100P50D100 run a laser fire.. ( Its pretty easy to add your own Gcode calls, so long as they arent recognise calls, the library call will be made. Your generally safe over 100.. Id add a dwell as well after the G101 ( or add one to the function..), but thats basically how you add a GCode in Auggie. Carefull though, theres no safety there,
if you request a long fire it will happen, though I think its limited to 1 minute..











User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Note:

Just tried the above, works here..but there is an example function G101, so delete that if you stick with G101 as your call.

Art
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »

Thanks art
&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;the method works but the holes are too small for me to use as intended [can hardly see them even with my glasses on &nbsp;< .25mm dia], I will need to explore the circular boring a bit more I need bigger marks than that.
had to dwell before and after drilling to get the timing correct

ps
I used G4 Pxx &nbsp; &nbsp;for the dwell &nbsp; I thought &nbsp;the p term was &nbsp;millis &nbsp;seems auggie says seconds
&nbsp;
Attachments

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Last edited by Richard Cullin on Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »

problem solved. coppercam can bore without creating arcs ,just need to turn off circular interpolation.
can now make etch drill point marks any size I need at any speed I desire
Attachments

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Richard:

Excellent. I should have though of the spot being too small really. But what the heck, its a good call to have
in the toolbox.. :)

Art
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »


I have to say the pcb making has turned out much better than I could have hoped for. The distance correction button was the key to success,
seems a 3w laser&nbsp; simply can't over cook paint on a copper substrate ,as long as your moving just blast away.
Art&nbsp; ,&nbsp; many thanks for you efforts and assistance
User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Richard:

All good to know. Those diode lasers are getting popular it seems,
so at least we know Auggie can drive one so long as you have a cnc57
to hook it to. :)

Art
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »

AUGGIE WOES

I'm hoping to replace the chinese motion controller on my mill with the pokeys57cnc . the aim to get probing functional
and make life simpler.
the problem , when the mill is used with mach3/pokeys dll_plugin it does something to the pokeys57 .whatever it is auggie disagrees
with it , i then have to use the pokeys pgm to reset the pokeys57 to factory. then start auggie twice over to enable the laser pwm
and power relay to regain functionality. if i'm lucky .

you might ask why use mach3 , well my prefered cad/cam package produces code (arcs) that auggie balks at [sample attached]
and not only that having both icons on the screen means i hit the wrong one occasionally gah!

is it possible to make auggie more assertive/thorough in setting pokeys57cnc attributes and or can auggie learn some alternative ways to
handle arcs ?

ps got a 15w diode laser [chinese watts , realistically 6w] , love it . can cut 4.5mm perspex providing its not clear or white.
red / black best&nbsp; 8-9 passes @250mm/min for 4.5mm , 4-5 passes for 3mm
pcb mask etching now @ 500mm/min is 3x faster than with 3w laser
pps
the paint masking trick is brilliant for chemical etching unflat metal surfaces
Attachments
spoon1.jpg
spoon2.jpg

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

User avatar
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4591
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by ArtF »

Hi Richard:

Yeah, switching between m3 and Auggie is rough.. Auggie relies on the pokeys to remember its
settings..it saved me form redundant configuration masks. Did you try the profile saver in Auggie,
you can save the pokeys states, and it will refresh them. It isnt perfect can can get you most of the
way there..on mine I need only reset the softlimits when I use it..

&nbsp; On next Auggie update Ill look at your arcs and at the profile problem to see if I can make the
profile saver more perfect on the pokeys side.&nbsp; In theory it should be able to save a Mach3 state and a Pokeys
state depending on when you use its save function.&nbsp; It can then be used to reset back to M3 or Auggie state
before you use it.

Art
Richard Cullin
Old Timer
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:45 am

Re: auggie with laser diode on pokeys57cnc

Post by Richard Cullin »

Did you try the profile saver in Auggie
not sure what you mean , can't see anything that says profile save
there is clone new delete when starting
I would be happy if only the soft limits were lost , can live with that
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 80 guests