Program Frozen after entering "0" value for pinion tooth count.

This is for reporting any trouble you may have
Rickam
Old Timer

Program Frozen after entering "0" value for pinion tooth count.

Post by Rickam »

Today is my first day with Gearotic and it is amazing. I'm also really enjoying the YouTube videos (Narrator is excellent!) 

I found that I was able to freeze the program by entering "0" value for pinion tooth count.  (I think entering the number "1" also had the same effect).   

I am trying to make a double spur gear with a spacer built into the top and bottom of the stack.  So I decided to try and make a gear with zero teeth to place on the bottom and top of the stack to serve this purpose as a spacer. 

I'm watching "ClockTutorial2.mp4" now so I'm guessing that I need to export to a cad program to add spacers, but I'm still learning so I'm not too sure.   

I'm a newby so I did not realize that saving a file will save only the "project" area and not the gear I had set up in the "tools" pane.  Or was this because I was unregistered when I saved my gears this morning - not too sure.  (I never made it as far as moving the gear to the 3D workspace).   

I am using version 2.229 on Windows 7.  -I will re-boot and re-install and try it again.- all best!
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Program Frozen after entering "0" value for pinion tooth count.

Post by ArtF »

Hi Rick:

Thx for the notification, Ill add a fix for 0's and 1's..

As for the stack, If Im understanding you , you wish to have multiple gears on a shaft with
spaces between? ( Youd just drop a gear on the screen, then drop another on the shaft of the first., the system will then allow you to drop it on any position on that shaft.. )

If Im misunderstanding..just yell... we'll figure it out.. :)

Art
Rickam
Old Timer

Post by Rickam »