Sprockets

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
bruce
Old Timer

Sprockets

Post by bruce »

I am a newbie to Gearotic but not CNC or CAD and I have a few questions about generating a chain sprocket in Gearotic.
I have the program loaded and have selected a sprocket, it's for #25 chain which is selected and the number of teeth is 70. So far so good
I see the drawing of the sprocket and I unchecked spokes so it is a solid disk. The next thing (after saving it) was trying to create a 4th axis
g-code for it but all I see when i click on that button is a target, not the sprocket plus no g-code is created. So what am I doing
wrong here? I don't need the action part of this program, just be able to create the sprocket then generate the g-code using straight CNC
or through the use of a 4th axis.
My next question is the use of the 4th axis for cutting the teeth, I see the sprocket is set on edge vertically and the ball cutter is used to
cut the tooth profile. What about placing the 4th axis horizontal and cutting the profile of that tooth using a plain end mill then indexing to
the next tooth and do the same? Well this one might be a suggestion for later enhancements.
Thanks,
Bruce
ArtF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Sprockets

Post by ArtF »

Hi Bruce:

The best way to cut a sprocket is 2d, not 4th axis, though it can be done. 4th axis is a tangental shaving
technique and sprockets are not involutes so its not the best way to do them. However, to get Gcode,
tell the sprocket tool to "Add to Project" the sprocket so you have it on the screen.
  Now select it in the tree, then press the "Send to 4th axis" button. The sprocket should appear on the screen.

There are now a few operation on top, rooting , for example, when you press that button, a path will appear. If you press it again, it turns off. You may mix and match the operations. Press Post to generate the Gcode.