Laser or CNC?

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Palamedes
Old Timer

Laser or CNC?

Post by Palamedes »

Howdy Gang!

Okay so I'm new to the forum, but have been doing a lot of scrollsaw work lately and even dabbled at a couple clocks. 

I want to do more work in the clock arena and making "tickers" to use your term, but cutting everything with my scroll saw all the time can be counter productive as I sometimes make mistakes and I have limited time to do this.  (Plus as a programmer, I like rapid prototyping..heh)

Since my wife and I are moving to a new home that actually has lots of room for a shop (YAY! No more sawdust on the cars..) I am pondering getting either a CNC router or laser cutter.

I'm torn.

I can see a lot of uses for both.  I haven't got any experience with either.  My primary use case would be making clocks or tickers so the cnc seems logical, but I also see a lot of use for laser engraving and cutting of smaller finer parts.

Thoughts?

Here is the really old thread about the MLT-13 clock I was working on that still doesn't tick more than 30 seconds.. heh
http://randomstringofwords.com/scroll-s ... lock/ 

I will get it finished one of these days!  Lots of very find sanding at this point.. It's really close but until the move it will be tough because I have no place to work on it.
- Pal
Steve Fox
Old Timer

Re: Laser or CNC?

Post by Steve Fox »

CNC machines and lasers are two completely different animals.  I looked at both several years ago and decided that a laser would be much more versatile for what I wanted to do.